Planning Commission of Allegany County


Members appointed to five-year terms by the County Commissioners. Authorized under §12 of Article 66B of the Annotated Code of Maryland.

The Planning & Zoning Commission is an appointed body that advises the County Commissioners on all matters related to the planning of growth and development, including the comprehensive plan, zoning, subdivision and other issues. It generally has the authority to approve subdivision plats and other development plans. In most cases, the Planning Commission advises concerning proposed rezoning, variances, special exceptions, amendments to, and redrafting of, comprehensive plans and various development-related ordinances. The Planning Commission generally oversees the drafting of the comprehensive plan and amendments thereto, holds public hearings and advises the governing body as to whether to adopt.  

Commission members

  • Breann L. D’Atri
  • Jon N. Loff
  • James D. Bauer
  • Steve MacGray, Chair
  • William M. Chesno

To apply to serve on the board, please complete this form.

Contact the Commission

JAMES A. SQUIRES JR., Division Chief
Email James Squires Jr.
Phone: 301-876-9549

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes