Board of Elections


Five members appointed to four-year terms by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate of Maryland.  President is chosen by the Board. Authorized by § 2-201 of the Election Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, amended by Chapter 429, Acts of the General Assembly of 2011.

It is the honor of the Board to protect and promote public trust and confidence by conducting accurate and fair elections. All functions revolve around this responsibility and include the assurance that every eligible citizen is given the opportunity to register and vote and that accessible polling places are provided for the citizens. The Board also serves as a reference center for election information and provide assistance to all candidates and the seven Allegany County municipalities.

Board Members

  • John T. Stakem (D), President
  • Richard DeVore (R)
  • Lisa Lyons (R)
  • Cecilia Pittman (D)
  • Debbie Johnson (D) 

2023 Board Meeting Schedule

  • January 2023 - No Meeting Scheduled
  • February 8, 2023 @ 9:00 a.m.
  • March 1, 2023 @ 9:00 a.m.
  • April 5, 2023 @ 9:00 a.m.
  • May 2023 - No Meeting Scheduled
  • June 7, 2023 – @ 9:00 a.m.
  • July 11, 2023 @ 9:00 a.m.
  • August 1, 2023 @ 9:00 a.m.
  • September 5, 2023 @ 9:00 a.m.
  • October 3, 2023 @ 9:00 a.m.
  • November 7, 2023 @ 9:00 a.m.
  • December 5, 2023 @ 9:00 a.m.

*July – December meeting dates will be selected once the new board holds their organizational meeting.  Dates will be posted at that time.

**We try to follow this schedule to the extent practicable but there may be times that the meeting date and time may be changed.  Please watch the website for updated information.  

***All meetings are open to the public and arrangements can be made for an interpreter for the deaf and mute.  Public participation at a meeting must be pre-scheduled and pre-approved by the president.


Allegany County Office Building, 701 Kelly Road - Cumberland, MD 21502

Agendas & Minutes

Previous and upcoming Election Board meeting documentation can be found in the Agenda Center.

Get Notified

For News Flash Alerts about meetings, agendas, polling places, news and more... visit the GET NOTIFIED tab for the Election Office.