Emergency Services Board

ABout the Board

Seven-member board consists of Fire and EMS personnel, as well as lay citizens, appointed by County Commissioners to one- or two-year terms.  Additionally, there are three ex-officio members. Created by Code Home Rule Bill 3-07 (adopted 3/22/07) to replace Fire and Rescue Board. §146-3

The Allegany County Emergency Services Board was created by Code Home Rule Bill (PDF) in 2007. The purpose of the board is to provide oversight on the county fire and rescue services within the guidelines established by the code home rule bill. The code establishes the organizations that are represented on the board. Those organizations recommend appointments to the Allegany County Commissioners who have final appointment authority. The Board works with two code created subcommittees: one for fire service issues known as the Fire Service Subcommittee, and the second for emergency medical services issues known as the Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Subcommittee.

Board members

  • Shannon Adams, Board Chairman, Fire Service Committee Chairman
  • Scott Whetzel, Board Vice Chairman, Region 1 EMS Council
  • Vince Pyles, Board Secretary, EMS Committee Chairperson
  • Pam Burkett, EMS Member at Large
  • Steve Grogg, Fire/EMS Career Representative
  • Ed Earnest, State Fire Marshall’s Office
  • Bobby Ritchie, Fire Service Member at Large
  • Vacant, Fire Service Citizen at large
  • Vacant, EMS Citizen at large

Contact the board

James Pyles, Director of Emergency Services

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Meeting Schedule and Location

Typically scheduled for the second Tuesday of February, April, June, August, October, and December at 6 PM and held at 11400 PPG Road SE, Cumberland, Maryland 21502